About Configuration Backup and Restore

A backup of the configuration database is auto-created after a user performs the Commit process within the user interface. This section focuses on manually backing up and restoring a backup of the PostgreSQL configuration database monarch, via the user interface. You also have the options to manage existing backups including restoring, locking, unlocking and deleting.

Back Up

  1. From the Configuration menu option, choose Nagios Monitoring > Control > Backup and restore.
    • Before you backup, you have the option to add an Annotation which can be referenced when restoring a backup. Enter a description of what configuration changes are motivating you to capture a backup at this time. This information will be displayed in the list of backups in the Back up and restore screen to help you figure out later on which backups are most important to you. The more descriptive you are now, the less confusion will be present later on.

      A manually-initiated backup taken at this time will include the current running copies of Nagios config files, along with the current content of the  database. The database will contain any changes made since the last Commit, and will therefore not necessarily generate the same set of Nagios config files captured in this backup. Restoring this backup will restore only the database content; a subsequent Commit would be needed to put that data back into production.

    • Next, you have the option to Lock the backup which allows it to be saved indefinitely:
      • Unlocked backups are subject to being automatically deleted when too many accumulate. The number of old unlocked backups to be retained is set by the Configuration > Control > Setup > Max unlocked backups option.
      • A locked backup can be set when a backup is first created, and unlocked thereafter.
      • Unlocked backups may also be manually deleted.
  2. Select Back up to overwrite the active Nagios configuration, restart Nagios, and create a backup, (select Abort if you do not want to follow through with the commit process).

    new backup

    Backup complete message will display at the top of the screen indicating the location of where the files are backed up, and the backup instance added under Manage existing backups at the bottom of the screen.

    backup complete

Restore

In the same screen where manual backups are performed you can also manage existing backups including restoring, locking, unlocking and deleting.

When performing a restore make sure to take your time and read the various explanations as restoring a backup will destroy your existing setup.

  1. From the Configuration menu option, choose Nagios Monitoring > Control > Backup and restore, existing backups will be listed.
  2. To manage an existing backup, click on the box next to the corresponding Backup Date/Time, and select the desired option (Restore, Lock, Unlock, or Delete).

    restore
  3. Verify the restore by selecting Restore again.
    • A message will display the selected backup has been restored. Along with a note:

      This restore operation only affects the Monarch database. Nagios remains running with the same configuration it had before the restore. The restored data will not be placed into production until you run a separate Commit.

  4. You may want to Commit the restore at this point.

Related Resources